Understanding Growth Disorders

Let Life Happen

Let Life Happen

Understanding Growth Disorders
Understanding Growth Disorders

Let Life Happen

Understanding Growth Disorders

 

A variety of growth disorders prevent people from growing at their expected rate. This may result in a child not gaining their height or weight at the normal rate and an inability to grow strong bones. The most common growth disorders are outlined below.

In general, one of the most common causes of growth disorders is that a child’s body does produce enough growth hormone, or GH. 

Growth hormone has important functions for growth all over the body, including:

  • Sending signals to all parts of the body involved with growth
  • Building muscle
  • Making strong bones
  • Reducing fat and turning it into energy1

Growth hormone is produced by two glands in the human brain: the pituitary gland and the hypothalamus. Damage to these glands by genetic disorders, injury, tumours or infection, can lead to a deficiency in growth hormone and slowed growth. 

Growth Hormone Deficiency (GHD) is a medical condition that results when the body does not produce enough growth hormone. 

GH is produced by the pituitary gland, which is a pea-sized gland located at the base of the brain. Another gland, the hypothalamus, regulates the release of GH from the pituitary. In people with GHD, the pituitary or hypothalamus glands aren’t functioning properly which can prevent growth, weight gain and the development of strong bones. This means the extra amount that is needed for normal growth then needs to be given. 2

Causes

Signs & Symptoms

Children with GHD have a slow or flat rate of growth which may not become apparent until a child is 2 to 3 years old. A child with GHD has normal skeletal proportions and intelligence.4

  • Other symptoms include:
  • Slow increase in bone length
  • Young-looking face
  • Increased fat, particularly around the stomach area
  • In older children, puberty may be delayed or not start at all 5

Treatment Options

Growth hormone (GH) therapy is used to help children with GHD to grow. The goal of GH therapy is to help your child reach their full height potential. Giving GH injections as prescribed may help to restore your child’s normal growth and reach their maximum final adult height. 

GH can be administered at home using different types of devices, including:

  • Automatic automated drug delivery devices, such as easypod®
  • Manual pens and syringes

As with any medication, side effects can happen. Be sure to consult the leaflet in the box that comes with the medicine to understand possible side effects. Talk to your healthcare team if you have any questions or concerns.

Turner Syndrome (TS) is a growth disorder affecting only females. Most girls are naturally born with two of the same sex chromosomes, called X chromosomes. In girls born with TS, one of the two X chromosomes is missing, incomplete or damaged.6

Causes

Turner Syndrome is not connected with environmental factors or any of the common factors generally associated with genetic issues. It occurs when a piece of genetic information is lost during the division of sex cells.7

Signs & Symptoms

The signs and symptoms of Turner Syndrome vary, depending on the age of the individual. Key clinical features of Turner Syndrome include:

  • Short stature
  • Webbed neck, low posterior hairline, misshapen, rotated ears and narrow palate with crowded teeth or broad chest with widely spaced nipples
  • Difficulty with nonverbal, social or psychomotor skills, although girls with Turner Syndrome typically have normal intelligence
  • Pubertal delay and lack of breast development by 14 years of age
  • Women with Turner Syndrome may experience infertility8

Treatment Options

Early diagnosis is important to allow maximum benefit from therapies which can help treat TS. Growth hormone therapy can speed up growth and increase final adult height. Other treatment options can be proposed by doctors in addition to GH therapy in order to further improve development. Please see the Turner Syndrome Society of Canada for more information.9

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) describes kidney malfunction that develops gradually over time (at least three months). As CKD progresses, the kidneys become less able to remove waste and extra water from the body. People with CKD often have poor growth and can be treated by growth hormone (GH).10

Causes

Growth disorders may be due to a number of factors associated with CKD such as problems getting enough energy and minerals from food for growth, abnormalities in the GH production area and bone disease induced by CKD.11

Treatment Options

There are various therapies that can help with CKD. Growth hormone (GH) therapy can increase the body’s rate of growth and improve final height.12

After conception, a fetus develops and grows in its mother’s womb until birth. The number of weeks a baby spends in the womb before being born is referred to as the baby’s gestational age. If a baby is born smaller than normal for his or her gestational age, he or she will be referred to as being small for gestational age (SGA). A baby is considered SGA if he or she has a birth weight or length less than the 3rd percentile.13

Causes

There are several possible reasons why a baby is born SGA. These factors can include genetic syndromes, maternal factors such as infection or substance abuse and demographic considerations such as the mother’s age or race.14

Signs & Symptoms

A baby born with SGA will be smaller than other babies of the same gestational age. By proportion, the baby will probably have thinner arms and legs but should otherwise look healthy. SGA babies have a good possibility of reaching normal adult height if treated early in childhood with growth hormone therapy. 15

Later in life, children born SGA can possibly have some differences compared with other children. These differences can be countered with early growth hormone treatment and include:

  • Low weight 16
  • Short height 17
  • Less muscle and fat 18
  • Reduced appetite 19
  • Slow growth of bones before puberty which can mean weaker bones in later life 20

Treatment Options

If children born SGA have not caught up with their peers by two to four years of age, their healthcare professional will probably suggest that a pediatric endocrinologist carries out a thorough check-up to determine the possible causes of the small size of the child. Growth hormone treatment may be prescribed to help restore normal growth and treatment is most beneficial if given as early as possible.21

1. Growth Hormone Deficiency: A Guide for Parents and Patients.” Child Growth Foundation. 2004. Available online here

2. “Growth hormone deficiency” MedlinePlus. 2014. Available online here.  Last accessed September 2014.

3. Ibid.

4. “Growth hormone deficiency” MedlinePlus. 2014. Available online here. Last accessed September 2014.

5. Ibid.

6. “Turner Syndrome: Diagnosis and Management.” Thomas Morgan MD. Am Fam Physician. 2007 Aug 1;76(3): 405-417. Available online here

7. Ibid.

8. Ibid.

9. Ibid.

10. “Effect of Growth Hormone Treatment on the Adult Height of Children with Chronic Renal Failure.” Dieter Haffner, M.D., Franz Schaefer, M.D., Richard Nissel, M.D., Elke Wühl, M.D., Burkhard Tönshoff, M.D., and Otto Mehls, M.D. for the German Study Group for Growth Hormone Treatment in Chronic Renal Failure. N Engl J Med 2000; 343:923-930.

11. Ibid.

12. ”Recombinant Human Growth Hormone (rhGH) in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD):Guidelines for Therapy.” Canadian Association of Pediatric Nephrologists. May 2007.

13. “Small for Gestational Age Introduction.” The Magic Foundation. 2014. Available online here

14. “Small for Gestational Age Introduction.” The Magic Foundation. 2014. Available online here

15. Dahlgren J, Wikland K on behalf of the Swedish Study Group for Growth Hormone treatment. Final height in short children born small for gestational age treated with growth hormone. Pediatr Res. 2005:57:216−222. Available online here. Last accessed June 2014.

16. Sas,T., de Waal,W., Mulder,P., Houdijk,M., Jansen,M., Reeser,M., & Hokken-Koelega,A. Growth hormone treatment in children with short stature born small for gestational age: 5-year results of a randomized, double-blind, dose-response trial. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 84, 3064-3070 (1999).

17. Van Erum,R., Mulier,M., Carels,C., & de Zegher,F. Short stature of prenatal origin: craniofacial growth and dental maturation. Eur. J Orthod 20, 417-425 (1998).

18. Leger,J., Garel,C., Fjellestad-Paulsen,A., Hassan,M., & Czernichow,P. Human growth hormone treatment of short-stature children born small for gestational age: effect on muscle and adipose tissue mass during a 3-year treatment period and after 1 year's withdrawal. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 83, 3512-3516 (1998).

19. Lee,P.A., Chernausek,S.D., Hokken-Koelega,A.C., & Czernichow,P. International Small for Gestational Age Advisory Board consensus development conference statement: management of short children born small for gestational age, April 24-October 1, 2001. Pediatrics 111, 1253-1261 (2003).

20. de Zegher,F., Albertsson-Wikland,K., Wollmann,H.A., Chatelain,P., Chaussain,J.L., Lofstrom,A., Jonsson,B., & Rosenfeld,R.G. Growth hormone treatment of short children born small for gestational age: growth responses with continuous and discontinuous regimens over 6 years. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 85, 2816-2821 (2000).

21. Dahlgren J, Wikland K on behalf of the Swedish Study Group for Growth Hormone treatment. Final height in short children born small for gestational age treated with growth hormone. Pediatr Res. 2005:57:216−222. Available online here. Last accessed June 2014.

Understanding Growth Disorders

Laissez la vie se produire

Laissez la vie se produire

Understanding Growth Disorders
Understanding Growth Disorders

Laissez la vie se produire

Comprendre les troubles de la croissance

Divers troubles de la croissance peuvent empêcher une personne d’atteindre sa pleine taille. Ils peuvent faire en sorte qu’un enfant ne prenne pas de poids ou ne grandisse pas à un rythme normal et soit incapable de développer des os forts. Les principaux troubles de la croissance sont décrits ci dessous.

En général, l’une des causes les plus fréquentes d’un trouble de la croissance est l’incapacité du corps d’un enfant à produire suffisamment d’hormone de croissance (GH).

L’hormone de croissance joue divers rôles importants dans la croissance de toutes les parties du corps, notamment ce qui suit :

  • Envoyer des signaux à toutes les parties du corps qui jouent un rôle dans la croissance;
  • Bâtir la masse musculaire;
  • Renforcer les os;
  • Réduire la masse adipeuse et la transformer en énergie1.

L’hormone de croissance est produite par deux glandes du cerveau humain : l’hypophyse et l’hypothalamus. Si l’une ou l’autre de ces glandes est endommagée par des troubles génétiques, une lésion, des tumeurs ou une infection, une insuffisance en hormone de croissance et un retard de croissance sont possibles.

L’insuffisance en hormone de croissance est une condition médicale qui survient lorsque le cerveau ne produit pas suffisamment d’hormone de croissance.

La GH est produite par l’hypophyse, une glande de la grosseur d’un pois qui se trouve à la base du cerveau. Une autre glande, l’hypothalamus, régularise la libération de l’hormone de croissance par l’hypophyse. Chez les personnes atteintes d’insuffisance en hormone de croissance, l’hypophyse ou l’hypothalamus ne fonctionne pas bien, ce qui nuit à la croissance, au gain de poids et au développement d’os forts. Ainsi, la quantité d’hormone supplémentaire nécessaire pour assurer une croissance normale doit être donnée2.

Causes

Signes et symptômes

Les enfants qui ont une insuffisance en hormone de croissance ont un taux de croissance lent ou inexistant et la condition peut ne pas être apparente avant l’âge de 2 ou 3 ans. Un enfant atteint d’insuffisance en hormone de croissance a des proportions squelettiques et une intelligence normales.

 Parmi d’autres symptômes, notons ce qui suit :

  • Ralentissement de la croissance osseuse;
  • Visage aux traits enfantins;
  • Augmentation des graisses, surtout dans la région du ventre;
  • Chez les enfants plus vieux, retard ou absence de puberté5.

Options de traitement

Le traitement à l’hormone de croissance (GH) permet de stimuler la croissance d’un enfant atteint d’insuffisance en hormone de croissance. L’objectif du traitement à l’hormone de croissance est d’aider l’enfant à atteindre sa taille potentielle maximale. Le fait d’administrer des injections de GH telles que prescrites aide votre enfant à avoir une croissance normale et à atteindre une taille maximale à l’âge adulte.

La GH peut être administrée à la maison à l’aide de différents types de dispositifs, y compris ce qui suit :

  • Dispositifs automatisés d’administration de médicaments, notamment easypodMD;
  • Seringues et stylos injecteurs manuels.

Comme avec tous les médicaments, certains effets secondaires peuvent se manifester. Assurez vous de consulter le dépliant fourni dans la boîte du médicament pour connaître les effets secondaires possibles. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, parlez en à votre équipe de soins de santé.

Le syndrome de Turner est un trouble de la croissance qui touche seulement les femmes. La majorité des filles en santé naissent avec deux chromosomes sexuels identiques appelés X. Chez les filles atteintes du ST, l’un des deux chromosomes X est manquant, incomplet ou endommagé6.

Causes

Le syndrome de Turner n’est pas lié à des facteurs environnementaux ni à d’autres facteurs courants généralement associés à des problèmes génétiques. Il survient lorsque des données génétiques se perdent pendant la division des cellules sexuelles7.

Signes et symptômes

Les signes et symptômes du syndrome de Turner varient selon l’âge de la personne. Les caractéristiques cliniques principales du syndrome de Turner incluent ce qui suit :

  • Petite taille;
  • Cou palmé, implantation postérieure basse des cheveux, oreilles déformées ou inversées et palais étroit avec des dents qui se chevauchent ou poitrine large avec mamelons espacés;
  • Compétences non verbales, sociales ou psychomotrices déficientes, bien que les filles atteintes du syndrome de Turner aient en général une intelligence normale;
  • Retard pubertaire et de la croissance des seins avant l’âge de 14 ans;
  • Infertilité chez certaines femmes atteintes du syndrome de Turner8.

Options de traitement

Le diagnostic précoce est important afin de permettre de tirer pleinement profit des traitements pour le syndrome de Turner. Le traitement à l’hormone de croissance peut accélérer la croissance et augmenter la taille finale à l’âge adulte. Le médecin peut proposer d’autres traitements en association avec le traitement à l’hormone de croissance afin d’améliorer davantage le développement. Veuillez consulter le site de la Société canadienne du syndrome de Turner pour de plus amples renseignements9.

L’insuffisance rénale chronique désigne une défaillance rénale qui évolue graduellement avec le temps (au moins trois mois). À mesure que progresse l’insuffisance rénale chronique, les reins ont de plus en plus de difficulté à éliminer les déchets et le surplus d’eau du corps. Les personnes atteintes d’insuffisance rénale chronique ont souvent des troubles de croissance et peuvent être traitées avec l’hormone de croissance (GH)10.

Causes

Les troubles de la croissance peuvent être attribuables à un certain nombre de facteurs associés à l’insuffisance rénale chronique, notamment la difficulté à tirer suffisamment d’énergie et de minéraux des aliments pour assurer la croissance, les anomalies dans la production de GH et une maladie des os découlant de l’insuffisance rénale11.

Options de traitement

Divers traitements peuvent aider en cas d’insuffisance rénale chronique. Le traitement à l’hormone de croissance (GH) peut augmenter le taux de croissance du corps et la taille atteinte à l’âge adulte12

Après la conception, le fœtus se développe et grossit dans l’utérus de la mère jusqu’à la naissance. Le nombre de semaines que passe un bébé dans l’utérus avant la naissance correspond à l’âge gestationnel. Si l’enfant est plus petit que la normale pour son âge gestationnel à la naissance, on dira qu’il a une petite taille pour son âge gestationnel. On considère qu’un bébé est petit pour son âge gestationnel si son poids ou sa taille à la naissance sont inférieurs au 3e percentile13.

Causes

Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer l’hypotrophie néonatale. Parmi ces causes, notons les syndromes génétiques, les facteurs maternels comme l’infection ou l’abus d’alcool ou d’autres drogues et des facteurs démographiques, notamment l’âge ou l’origine ethnique de la mère14.

Signes et symptômes

Un bébé atteint d’hypotrophie néonatale sera plus petit que les autres bébés du même âge gestationnel. En proportion, le bébé aura probablement des jambes et des bras plus fins, mais il aura l’air en santé par ailleurs. L’enfant né petit pour l’âge gestationnel a de bonnes chances d’atteindre une taille normale à l’âge adulte s’il est traité tôt avec l’hormone de croissance15.

Plus tard dans sa vie, il est possible que l’enfant atteint d’hypotrophie néonatale présente des différences par rapport aux autres enfants. Un traitement précoce à l’hormone de croissance peut permettre d’atténuer ces différences, notamment ce qui suit :

  • Faible poids 16;
  • Petite taille17;
  • Moins de muscles et de graisse18;
  • Piètre appétit19;
  • Faible croissance des os avant la puberté pouvant entraîner une faiblesse des os à un âge plus avancé20.

Options de traitement

Si l’enfant est né petit pour l’âge gestationnel et n’a pas rattrapé ses pairs entre l’âge de 2 et 4 ans, le professionnel de la santé pourrait suggérer de consulter un endocrinologue pédiatrique qui procédera à un examen approfondi afin de déterminer les causes possibles de la petite stature pour l’âge gestationnel. Un traitement à l’hormone de croissance pourra être prescrit pour aider à rétablir une croissance normale et ce traitement sera davantage bénéfique s’il est commencé le plus tôt possible21.

1. Growth Hormone Deficiency: A Guide for Parents and Patients.” Child Growth Foundation. 2004. Available online here

2. “Growth hormone deficiency” MedlinePlus. 2014. Available online here.  Last accessed September 2014.

3. Ibid.

4. “Growth hormone deficiency” MedlinePlus. 2014. Available online here. Last accessed September 2014.

5. Ibid.

6. “Turner Syndrome: Diagnosis and Management.” Thomas Morgan MD. Am Fam Physician. 2007 Aug 1;76(3): 405-417. Available online here

7. Ibid.

8. Ibid.

9. Ibid.

10. “Effect of Growth Hormone Treatment on the Adult Height of Children with Chronic Renal Failure.” Dieter Haffner, M.D., Franz Schaefer, M.D., Richard Nissel, M.D., Elke Wühl, M.D., Burkhard Tönshoff, M.D., and Otto Mehls, M.D. for the German Study Group for Growth Hormone Treatment in Chronic Renal Failure. N Engl J Med 2000; 343:923-930.

11. Ibid.

12. ”Recombinant Human Growth Hormone (rhGH) in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD):Guidelines for Therapy.” Canadian Association of Pediatric Nephrologists. May 2007.

13. “Small for Gestational Age Introduction.” The Magic Foundation. 2014. Available online here

14. “Small for Gestational Age Introduction.” The Magic Foundation. 2014. Available online here

15. Dahlgren J, Wikland K on behalf of the Swedish Study Group for Growth Hormone treatment. Final height in short children born small for gestational age treated with growth hormone. Pediatr Res. 2005:57:216−222. Available online here. Last accessed June 2014.

16. Sas,T., de Waal,W., Mulder,P., Houdijk,M., Jansen,M., Reeser,M., & Hokken-Koelega,A. Growth hormone treatment in children with short stature born small for gestational age: 5-year results of a randomized, double-blind, dose-response trial. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 84, 3064-3070 (1999).

17. Van Erum,R., Mulier,M., Carels,C., & de Zegher,F. Short stature of prenatal origin: craniofacial growth and dental maturation. Eur. J Orthod 20, 417-425 (1998).

18. Leger,J., Garel,C., Fjellestad-Paulsen,A., Hassan,M., & Czernichow,P. Human growth hormone treatment of short-stature children born small for gestational age: effect on muscle and adipose tissue mass during a 3-year treatment period and after 1 year's withdrawal. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 83, 3512-3516 (1998).

19. Lee,P.A., Chernausek,S.D., Hokken-Koelega,A.C., & Czernichow,P. International Small for Gestational Age Advisory Board consensus development conference statement: management of short children born small for gestational age, April 24-October 1, 2001. Pediatrics 111, 1253-1261 (2003).

20. de Zegher,F., Albertsson-Wikland,K., Wollmann,H.A., Chatelain,P., Chaussain,J.L., Lofstrom,A., Jonsson,B., & Rosenfeld,R.G. Growth hormone treatment of short children born small for gestational age: growth responses with continuous and discontinuous regimens over 6 years. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 85, 2816-2821 (2000).

21. Dahlgren J, Wikland K on behalf of the Swedish Study Group for Growth Hormone treatment. Final height in short children born small for gestational age treated with growth hormone. Pediatr Res. 2005:57:216−222. Available online here. Last accessed June 2014.