FAQs

Let Life Happen

Let Life Happen

FAQs
FAQs

Let Life Happen

My Child's Growth

 

In typical children, head circumference, weight and height follow the same growth lines. Keeping a record of these measurements over time will help you and your healthcare provider to understand your child’s individual growth pattern. Talk to your healthcare provider if you have concerns about your child’s growth.1

Your child’s growth is influenced by genetic and environmental factors, including gestational age, birth weight, type of feeding (breast or formula), parental stature, environment, nutrition, physical activity, chronic illness and special healthcare needs.2

Growth charts allow a doctor to compare your child’s growth curve with those of other children. To measure growth curve, the doctor takes regular height measurements from birth to 18 months, and then every year up to puberty.3

“Normal growth” falls between the 3rd and 97th percentiles. Children with GHD have slowed growth that is not within what’s considered normal for their age.

Your healthcare team will help to verify accuracy of measurement by ensuring your child is weighed and measured appropriated, in the same conditions and on the same scale. Nutritional history and a medical evaluation should also be part of your child’s growth assessment.

A calculation of mid-parental height can help to estimate a child’s genetic growth potential:

For boys, (father’s height + mother’s height) / 2 + 6.5 cm +/- 8.5 cm 

For girls, (father’s height + mother’s height) / 2 – 6.5 cm +/- 8.5 cm

Whether or not children fall within the limits of their growth potential, they should be assessed for potential medical conditions when their growth pattern is abnormal.4  

Parents and caregivers are best suited to monitor a child’s growth. Parents and caregivers should regularly weigh and measure their children as an essential component of their care. As children mature, they can monitor their own growth with the help of a parent or caregiver.5

1. “Is My Child Growing Well?” Dietitians of Canada. Available online here

2. A Health Professional’s Guide to Using Growth Charts. Paediatr Child Health. Mar 2004; 9(3): 174–176. Available online here 

3. Ibid.

4. Valérie Marchand; Canadian Paediatric Society, Nutrition and Gastroenterology Committee Paediatr Child Health 2012;17(8): 447. Available online here

5. Promoting Optimal Monitoring of Child Growth in Canada. Collaborative Public Policy Statement. Dietitians of Canada and Canadian Paediatric Society 2010. Available online here

FAQs

Laissez la vie se produire

Laissez la vie se produire

FAQs
FAQs

Laissez la vie se produire

La croissance de mon enfant

Chez la majorité des enfants, la circonférence de la tête, le poids et la taille suivent des courbes semblables. Le fait de consigner ces mesures dans le temps vous aidera, vous et votre professionnel de la santé, à comprendre le modèle de croissance de votre enfant. Parlez à votre professionnel de la santé de vos préoccupations à propos de la croissance de votre enfant1.

La croissance de votre enfant est influencée par des facteurs génétiques et environnementaux, notamment l’âge gestationnel, le poids à la naissance, le type d’alimentation (lait maternel ou préparation pour nourrissons), la stature des parents, l’environnement, l’alimentation, l’activité physique, la maladie chronique et les besoins de soins de santé spéciaux2.

Les graphiques de croissance permettent au médecin de comparer la courbe de croissance de votre enfant à celles d’autres enfants du même âge. Pour mesurer la courbe de croissance de votre enfant, le médecin prendra des mesures de sa taille régulièrement de la naissance jusqu’à 18 mois, puis une fois par année jusqu’à la puberté3.

La « croissance normale » se situe entre les 3e et 97e percentiles. Les enfants atteints d’une insuffisance en hormone de croissance connaissent un rythme de croissance ralenti qui ne correspond pas aux valeurs normales pour leur âge.

Votre équipe de soins de santé assurera la précision des mesures en voyant à peser et à mesurer votre enfant comme il se doit, dans les mêmes conditions et avec les mêmes outils. Les antécédents en matière de nutrition et une évaluation médicale feront aussi partie de l’évaluation de la croissance de votre enfant.

Un calcul de la taille moyenne des parents peut aider à estimer le potentiel de croissance génétique d’un enfant :

Pour les garçons : (taille du père + taille de la mère) / 2 + 6,5 cm +/- 8,5 cm

Pour les filles : (taille du père + taille de la mère) / 2 – 6,5 cm +/- 8,5 cm

Que le potentiel de croissance des enfants correspondent aux valeurs établies ou non, on doit vérifier la présence de conditions médicales lorsque leur modèle de croissance est anormal4

Les parents et les soignants sont mieux à même de surveiller la croissance d’un enfant. Les parents et les soignants devraient peser et mesurer régulièrement l’enfant dans le cadre de ses soins de routine. À mesure que l’enfant grandit, il pourra surveiller sa croissance lui même avec l’aide d’un parent ou d’un soignant5.

1. Est-ce que mon enfant grandit bien? Les diététistes du Canada. Accessible en ligne ici

2. A Health Professional’s Guide to Using Growth Charts. Paediatr Child Health. Mar 2004; 9(3): 174–176. Available online here 

3. Ibid.

4. Valérie Marchand; Société canadienne de pédiatrie, Comité de nutrition et de gastroentérologie. Paediatr Child Health 2012;17(8): 447. Available online here

5. Promoting Optimal Monitoring of Child Growth in Canada. Collaborative Public Policy Statement. Dietitians of Canada and Canadian Paediatric Society 2010. Available online here